1959-1967    Elementary school Leonard Roggeveen The


1973              Graduation A-level (scientific) Simon Stevin

                      College The Hague

1973-1974    Freelance jobs (secretarial) via Content BV The


1977              Graduation Higher Professional Education:

                      Biochemical Laboratory Techniques; Van

                      Leeuwenhoek Institute Delft

1997-1979    Work as neuroclinical lab technician University

                      Medical Centre Leiden

1979-1988    Work as biomolecular research assistant

                      Erasmus University Medical Centre Rotterdam

1982              Teaching Degree in Chemistry

1988-2004    Work as skills teacher University Maastricht,

                      Fac. Health Sciences

1991-1995    Member/vice-chairman Employee Participation

                      Committee Fac. Health Sciences for ABVAKABO

                      FNV trade union

1992              Bachelors Degree Laboratory Techniques

                      (Highschool of  Rotterdam)

1996-1999    Delegate in the Committee for Collective Labour

                      Agreement at the University Maastricht on behalf

                      of ABVAKABO FNV trade union

1999              Masters Degree Environmental Policy Sciences

                      (Open University NL)

2000- 2011    ABVAKABO FNV Trade Union Consultant at the

                      University Maastricht

2004- 2011    Regional Negotiator for collective labour

                      agreements on behalf of ABVAKABO FNV at the

                      Schools for Higher Education in the south of the


2006              Masters Degree Labour Law (University




I was born on December 8th 1954 in The Hague. I grew up in an area which was built just after WW2 to home the babyboom. Most of the people worked as employees in the industry or in the retail business, some as civil servants. From a very early age I got used to living in a melting pot of cultures. In my elementary school there were many children of Indonesian origin, their parents mostly being civil servants who had worked for the Dutch government and who had left Indonesia after it became independent (Remember, the Hague is the administrative capital of the Netherlands!). Most of my teachers were of (partly) Indonesian background as well. And at secondary school I witnessed the first influx of people from the former colony Suriname.

At that time, I was very much interested in sciences, so in 1973 I graduated with A-levels from the scientific stream, but with French as an extra. This was due to the summer holidays my family spent in France every year.

After secondary school and a year of doubt I choose to continue my education in the form of a 3 year study of Higher Education in Laboratory Techniques. I wanted to do handwork and university seemed to theoretical to me at that time. Moreover, a girl with my background usually didn’t go to university at that time. Me going for A-levels had already caused some frowning in my neighbourhood (being 1967).

After a great period of studying and fun making I graduated as Laboratory Technician and started to work, first in Leiden and then in Rotterdam. Teaching had always appealed to me so in 1982 I also got my teaching permit in chemistry. However, due to the economic recession in the 80s I could not get a job as teacher. So I stuck to being a lab technician, in the meanwhile saving enough money to endulge in a passion of mine: travelling to exotic countries (in particular with special nature or ancient cultures).

Greece was the first country I took off to. After the colonel dictatorship had gone, it was no longer political incorrect to visit it. (The British TV-series “Who pays the Ferryman” also contributed to this choice). In 1980 I visited it for the first time, and it still is my favourite European country – very soon we hope to realise one of our dreams in that country.

Afer that the rest of the world seemed easy. In 1981 I visited a friend of mine who had moved off to Clarksville, Tennessee, where the last train had stopped riding a long long time ago. On the way back I “did” New York in 1 day, missing Simon and Garfunkel’s Concert in Central Park by a week.

In 1983 I met a former study mate who encouraged me to visit the game reserves in East Africa. I joined a Dutch/Belgian group trip to Kenya, the group providing my future husband and a lot of very good friends. I did return to East Africa in 1985 (Kenya), 1996 and 2006 (Tanzania).

Other trips took me to cities like Amsterdam (ofcourse), Brussels, London, Paris, Barcelona, Berlin, Copenhagen, Prague, Rome and Buenos Aires and to France, Ireland, Sweden, Norway, Estonia & Latvia, Spitsbergen, China, Mongolia, Russia, Alaska, Curaçao, Mexico, Chile, Easter Island, Galapagos Islands, Egypt, Madagascar, South-Africa, Australia and Antarctica. As a hobby I learned some Kiswahili, Spanish and (Mandarin) Chinese in the meanwhile. Also, the total solar eclipse of August 1st 2008 at Novosibirsk, Siberia was a very very special once-in-a-lifetime experience.

In 1988 I married and moved from The Hague to Maastricht in the south of the country, where my husband worked. I applied for a job at the University of Maastricht (UM) and started to work as a biomedical skills teacher. After the study Environmental Health Sciences had started at the UM in 1990, I decided it was time again to use my brain again in my spare time and so I subscribed for the Master study of Environmental Policy Science. I got my Masters Degree in 1999, but in the meantime “environment” had slipped out of the political agenda and there was no longer employment in that field of society. However, in 2000 I made quite an unexpected switch – to trade union consultant at the university, since the person who had done it up to then had to quit for health reasons. It was a part time job for two days a week, but when in 2004 the ABVAKABO FNV trade union decided to start with regional Collective Labour Agreement negotiators for the whole of the Higher Edducation, I was able to work full time for the trade union, by special permission of the university.

When in 2005 the UM started with a Master in Labour Law, I thought that might help me do my work better, and so I subscribed. And after a year of hard work and little time off, in August 2006 I got my Masters Degree in Labour Law as well.

“Now I’m done studying” I said to everybody.

But, looking forward to a new phase in our life, my husband and I have started with a course in New Greek at the Education Centre in Hasselt (Belgium). June 2007 we graduated from the first year and  - after some hardship -  from year 2 in June 2008. After four years of study we now are able to make small talk to our neigbours in Greece. In my spare time I also do some sculpturing and “computering” (browsing the Internet, composing webpages, digitalizing old photos and vinyl albums). As for now, I spend my days researching on the Samos flora and the Rhijnsburger Family Tree and its history.  



Last updated January 2013